Upgrade TFS 2010 to TFS 11 beta step by step and it’s prerequisites


Updated on March 13, 212

<<

Before upgrade you must see the following video. 

Upgrading-to-Team-Foundation-Server-11-Core-Server

Note: Upgrading from TFS 11 Developer Preview To TFS 11 Beta not supported

>>

When I try to upgrade my existing environment of TFS 2010 to TFS 11 beta, first I saw the video for NORTHWEST CADENCE by Steven Borg, thanks Steven, but when I try to upgrade my environment I face the first issue which is described here, and then I have another configuration failure because, I had to update The SQL Server 2008 R2 SP1 to it’s Cumulative update 1, the error as the following:

The SQL instance used does not meet the minimum requirements for TFS. You must update SQL Server 2008 R2 to the latest Service Pack and Cumulative Update. Minimum requirements are SP1, Cumulative Update 1

You can find the SQL 2008 R2 SP1 here

You can find the Cumulative update here

Note:

The hardware requirements for SharePoint become 8 GB of RAM and if we use single machine (TFS +SharePoint+DB), it’s recommended to be 10 GB of RAM at least

So let’s see step by step image

About the Wizard

Welcome to upgrade wizard

Application Tier

Reporting

Reporting

Data warehouse of Reporting

Analysis Service

Report Reader Account

Review

Redness Checks

And Now OceanSoft upgraded to TFS 11 Core component 

6 thoughts on “Upgrade TFS 2010 to TFS 11 beta step by step and it’s prerequisites

  1. Pingback: Interesting links for Visual Studio 11 and TFS 11

  2. Hi, thank you for your post very helpful.
    I have a problem with the several updates, some of them couldn’t be installed.
    I just couldn’t choose the instance of SQL SERVER and the several fonctionnalities to upgrade.
    How came that? Have you a solution for my problem?

    Thanks.

    • Hi,
      You will need to describe your problem in more details, but I don’t think the blog comment will be the right place to do that, so my advice to you is just go to MSDN forum to ask your question and just give me the link or wait for other MS contributors or moderators that will surely help you

Leave a Reply

